Clint Needham

Concert of Latin American and North American Composers

Americas Society, 680 Park Ave., NYC

Tuesday, October 18 at 7:30pm

$25 ($20 with SONiCPass)

Buy Tickets

Clint Needham: "Driving Music"


Attending 2 or more performances? Check out the SONiCPass for at least 20% off ticket prices.

The music of Clint Needham has been described as “wildly entertaining” (New York Times), “easy to smile at” (Philadelphia Inquirer), and “well-crafted and arresting… riveting” (Herald Times). Recently named winner of the 2011 International Barlow Prize, Clint’s music has been recognized with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra’s Project 440 Commission, Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, two ASCAP Morton Gould Awards, the William Schuman Prize/BMI Student Composer Award, the Jacob Druckman Prize from the Aspen Music Festival, First Prize in the International Ticheli Composition Contest, the Heckscher Prize from Ithaca College, a Lee Ettelson Composer Award and the coveted Underwood New Music Commission from the American Composers Orchestra.

Clint’s orchestral music has been commissioned and performed by the Minnesota Orchestra, Omaha Symphony, American Composers Orchestra, Aspen Concert Orchestra, Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, Sioux City Symphony, New York Youth Symphony, Texarkana Symphony, Symphony in C, and the United States Air Force Band of the West, among others. Various chamber groups including Alarm Will Sound, the American Brass Quintet, Aspen Contemporary Ensemble, New York Classical Players, Dinosaur Annex, President’s Own Marine Band Brass Quintet, Quintet Attacca, Stanford Wind Quintet, and the Wingra Woodwind Quintet have given performances of his chamber music across the country, as well as in Europe, Japan, and Australia.
Upcoming commissions include works for the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Camerata Aberta, a trumpet concerto for Cleveland Orchestra member Jack Sutte & the Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory Wind Ensemble, and a consortium commission for the Imani Winds, Fifth House Ensemble, & Orpheus Winds from the Barlow Endowment.

Currently Assistant Professor of Music at Ohio Wesleyan University, Clint earned his doctorate degree from Indiana University, where he was a four-year Jacobs School of Music doctoral fellow in composition. His principal teachers include Claude Baker, Loris Chobanian, David Dzubay, Michael Gandolfi, Per Mårtensson, Sven- David Sandström, and Richard Wernick. Clint has also studied with Robert Beaser, Syd Hodkinson, Christopher Rouse, and George Tsontakis at the Aspen Music Festival as a Susan and Ford Schumann composition fellow and with Mario Davidovsky at the Wellesley Composers Conference as a composition fellow.