Aleksandra Gryka

Alarm Will Sound

Roulette; 509 Atlantic Avenue at 3rd Avenue, Brooklyn

Friday, October 21 at 7:30pm

$30 includes free admission to Electronic Roulette ($25 with SONiCPass)

Buy Tickets

Aleksandra Gryka: "How We Feel #1 Scream Queen 01"


Attending 2 or more performances? Check out the SONiCPass for at least 20% off ticket prices.

Aleksandra Gryka born in Warsaw in 1977, she first studied piano and later composition with Krystyna Moszumańska-Nazar at the Music Academy in Kraków. She attended several courses for composers organized under the auspices of new music centres ircam/acanthes in Kraków and Helsinki. She also took part in computer music courses with Magdalena Długosz and in the International Summer Academy Prague-Vienna-Budapest. Her honours include First Prize at the Euro-Art Meeting Composers Competition in Wrocław (2000). She made her ‘Warsaw Autumn’ debut in 2001. Since then she has received numerous commissions including those from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation for Interialcell, premiered at the ‘Warsaw Autumn’ in 2004. Her ballet Alpha Kryonia xe was produced by the Grand Theatre – National Opera in Warsaw in the 2005/06 season. One of her latest pieces is the short opera Tii vs. Comet, which is part of the first episode of the opera saga Kommander Kobayashi. Aleksandra Gryka lives in Warsaw. Selected works: for d. for piano solo (1999), lien-al for cello, harpsichord and accordion (2000), High3bbing.Nor for orchestra (2000), interioryzacion for computer (2000), oxygen nr.369,1 for tape and piano (2001), NonStopping center for harpsichord solo (2001), (1’) exists as…(-1’) for flute, accordion, percussion, piano and cello (2001), Project ien for tape, video and dancer (2002), JaIchIJe for string quartet and marimba (2002), ‘+’ for chamber orchestra (2003), Interialcell for chamber ensemble (2003), Alpha Kryonia xe, ballet (2003), esu for electroacoustic layer and video image (2004), konstrunity 0100 for 12 voices (2004), Tii vs. Comet for soprano and instrumental ensemble, within the framework of the opera saga Kommander Kobayashi (2004–05), ambeoidal mtocs for clarinet, marimba, piano, violin, tape and video (2005), ntvacou for contrabass recorder, harpsichord, violin and cello (2006), scream you, opera within the framework of the opera saga Kommander Kobayashi (2006).