Christopher Stark

ACO: Orchestra Underground: 21st Firsts

Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall; 7th Ave. and 57th St., NYC

Friday, October 14 at 7:30pm

$39/$50 ($31/$40 with SONiCPass)

Buy Tickets

Christopher Stark: "Ignatian Exercises"


Attending 2 or more performances? Check out the SONiCPass for at least 20% off ticket prices.

Christopher Stark is a composer of contemporary classical music deeply rooted in the American West. Having spent his formative years in rural western Montana, his music is always seeking to capture the expansive energy of this quintessential American landscape.

A recipient of numerous awards and commissions, Stark's music has been heard in concert venues around the world from the Neue Synagoge Berlin to Carnegie Hall. His music has been programmed, rehearsed and performed by such ensembles as Brave New Works, the American Composers Orchestra, the Buffalo Philharmonic, Dinosaur Annex, the University of Texas Wind Ensemble, the CCM Wind Symphony & Philharmonia, the Israeli Chamber Project, Juventas!, janus trio, the Momenta Quartet, and members of eighth blackbird.

Stark is currently finishing his DMA at Cornell University where he studies with professors Roberto Sierra and Steven Stucky. Past teachers include Samuel Adler, Michael Fiday, Mara Helmuth, Joel Hoffman, David Maslanka, Charles Nichols, Wolfram Wagner, and Patrick Williams. Stark currently teaches composition and music technology at the University of Montana.