Fonoptera (I) (2010) by Víctor Adán

Víctor Adán

Extended Play: Marathon Concert - Program 1

Miller Theatre at Columbia University, 2960 Broadway at 116th Street, NYC

Sunday, October 16 at 12:00pm

All-Day Pass $25 ($20 with SONiCPass); Each Concert $15 ($12 with SONiCPass)

Buy Tickets


Attending 2 or more performances? Check out the SONiCPass for at least 20% off ticket prices.

Víctor Adán was born and raised in “the navel of the moon”. Since an early age, his main interests have revolved around music, visual arts and engineering. As a creator he is most interested in fracturing cognitive and physical constraints and materializing the unlikely.

Some of his musical works include Fonoptera (2009) for eight impulsophones—1-bit mechanical impulse generators—and four MIDI player pianos, Los ingenieros del tiempo (2008) for six percussionists and whistle players, Schisma (2007) for 2 violins, trumpet and percussion, La espiral quebrada (2006) for flute + 8 channel diffusion and Crisalida (2003) for large orchestra.

As a software engineer, Adán has co-designed and developed Abjad (2006 -), a system for Formalized Score Control, Chiplotle (2006 -), a Python implementation and extension of the HPGL printer control language, and MúSIIC-Win (2000-2002) for the exploration of the combinatorial potential of scales.

His music has been anthologized in the book Notations 21, edited by Theresa Sauer. His scores and art have been exhibited at the Chelsea Art Museum in New York City (November 2008), and at The Hutchins Gallery in Long Island, New York (May 2009).